Craig Morris, CEO of the Association of Genuine Alaska Pollock Producers (GAPP), is taking on a new role with seafood certification group Global Seafood Alliance (GSA).

Morris will now serve on the GSA's board of directors, and will also continue his role with GAPP, he told IntraFish.

"I was honored to be asked to join the board to help provide oversight and governance to that organization," he said.

The board of directors also includes representatives from Walmart, Sysco, Pescanova, US Foods, Rabobank, the government of Iceland and other parties from the seafood industry.

GSA's Board of Directors

  • Michael Berto, Walmart
  • Eric Bloom, Eastern Fish Co, Inc
  • Rittirong Boonmechote, Thai Union Group
  • Joe Chekouras, Mazzetta Company
  • George Chamberlain, The Center for Responsible Seafood
  • Marcus Coleman, Seafish
  • Julie Decker, Pacific Seafood Processors Association (PSPA)
  • Hon. Rick Doucet, AGW Consulting LTD
  • Tony Downs, Sysco Corp.
  • Laura Garrido, Pescanova USA
  • Bill Herzig, Sustainable Strategies & Initiatives
  • Robert Jones, The Nature Conservancy
  • Allen Kimball, Allen K Kimball Consulting LLC
  • Santhana Krishnan, Maritech
  • Hannah Lindoff, Alaska Seafood Marketing Institute
  • Arni Mathiesen, Government of Iceland
  • Robins McIntosh, Charoen Pokphand Foods Public Co., Ltd
  • Craig Morris, Genuine Alaska Pollock Producers
  • Gorjan Nikolik, Rabobank
  • Ron Patton, Grobest Global Service Inc
  • Terry Stachowiak, Rich Products
  • Wally Stevens, Global Seafood Alliance
  • Jennifer Wandler, US Foods

The GSA is an international, nonprofit trade association headquartered in the United States that developed the Best Aquaculture Practices (BAP) third-party sustainable seafood certification program.

In 2018, the organization expanded its scope beyond aquaculture to include wild-capture fisheries. Last year the GSA and Alaska's Responsible Fisheries Management (RFM) seafood certification program joined forces to expand their reach within wild fisheries and new markets.

GAPP's membership is comprised of Alaska pollock harvesters, community development quota (CDQ) groups and at-sea and shore-based processors. Among its member companies are Trident Seafoods, American Seafoods, Arctic Fjord/Arctic Storm, UniSea, Peter Pan Seafoods and Coastal Villages Region Fund.

GAPP membership is comprised of Alaska pollock harvesters, community development quota groups, and at-sea and shore-based processors.
  • Akutan Catcher Vessel Assoc.
  • Alyeska Seafoods
  • American Seafoods
  • Aleutian Pribilof Island Community Development Assoc.
  • Arctic Fjord/Arctic Storm
  • Bristol Bay Economic Development Corp.
  • Central Bering Sea Fishermen's Assoc.
  • Coastal Villages Region Fund
  • Glacier Fish Company
  • Golden Alaska Seafoods
  • High Seas Catchers’ Co-op
  • Northern Victor Fleet Cooperative
  • Norton Sound Economic Development Corp.
  • Ocean Beauty Seafoods
  • Peter Pan Fleet Cooperative
  • Phoenix Processor Limited Partnership
  • Trident Seafoods
  • Unalaska Fleet Cooperative
  • UniSea
  • UniSea Fleet Cooperative
  • Westward Fleet Cooperative
  • Westward Seafoods
  • Westward Seafoods, Northern Victor Division
Make better business decisions with a group subscription to IntraFish
Empower your team with industry-leading insight and analysis of the fast-moving seafood sector. Learn how a group subscription to IntraFish can empower your business.